Inside Atari DOS
by Bill Wilkinson, published 1982

Book cover

Title Page
Introduction: Being a History of Two Births: "Coleen" and "Candy"
Chapter One: Atari DOS Overview
Chapter Two: Disk Organization
Chapter Three: FMS File Control Blocks (FCB)
Chapter Four: FMS Initialization
Chapter Five: FMS Entry
Chapter Six: FMS Exit
Chapter Seven: Device Dependent Commands
Chapter Eight: FMS Open Routines
Chapter Nine: FMS Close Routines
Chapter Ten: The GET BYTE Routine
Chapter Eleven: The PUT BYTE Routine
Chapter Twelve: Burst I/O
Chapter Thirteen: Reading the Directory as a File
Chapter Fourteen: Sector I/O Routines
Chapter Fifteen: File Name Decode Routine
Chapter Sixteen: Directory Searching
Chapter Seventeen: Write Next Sector
Chapter Eighteen: Read Next Sector
Chapter Nineteen: Get and Free Sector Routines
Chapter Twenty: The Boot Process
Chapter Twenty-One: Maintaining the Boot Record
Atari DOS 2.0S
Appendix A: An Intermediate User's Guide To This Book

You may be able to buy a pre-owned, printed copy of the book from

This site maintained by Kevin Savetz. Inside Atari DOS is copyright 1982, and is posted on with the permission of the copyright holder. Do not redistribute, mirror, or copy this online book.